Lorraine Patrick

Lorraine Patrick

Lorraine Patrick

Blogger Bio

Hello there, my name is Lorraine, I’m 38 and have one little daughter called Paige who is 7 years old.  I live in Newtownabbey in Northern Ireland. After having ulcerative colitis since the age of 18 I had an emergency colectomy in 2010 which meant the removal of my entire large bowel and a section of my small bowel brought through the wall of my tummy forming my stoma (ileostomy).

I was given the option of a reversal last year but decided to keep my stoma to avoid more surgeries so instead had a completion proctectomy or ‘Barbie bum’ as some of us like to call it or ‘action man bum’ if you’re a guy.  For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about I basically had my rectum removed and was stitched closed. Living with a stoma is usually pretty easy for me.

Quick Questions

What do you do in your free time?

In my free time I enjoy doing crafts and although I haven’t got much done lately, I enjoy paper cutting.  I also like spending time with my daughter who is funny and makes me laugh so often.

Where would you go in a time travel machine?

In a time machine I would go back two thousand years and talk to Jesus when he was here on earth, not exactly sure what I’d say, but I’m sure I’d have a LOT of questions!

What animal would you most like to have as a pet?

As to what animal I’d most like to have as a pet, that’s easy, a giraffe!  Giraffe’s are so elegant and have the most wonderful eyelashes. But someone else would definitely have to deal with the poop! Poop in a bag is one thing but cleaning up after a giraffe… I think not!

Lorraine’s Recent Posts